Ender in Exile takes place after the major events of Ender's Game and well before the start of Speaker for the Dead, filling in some of the three thousand years that Card skipped over between those novels.  More specifically, Ender in Exile is an elaborate expansion of Chapter 15 of Ender's Game. At the same time, however, Ender in Exile also ties up some loose ends left from Shadow of the Giant, the last (so far) of the Bean sequence of novels.

Let's back up. Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow are "parallel" novels, both relating the same events in which young boys and girls are trained to lead the human race in a future war.  Ender's Game is told from the point of view of Ender Wiggin, the most successful of these youths, and Ender's Shadow from the viewpoint of Ender's friend and lieutenant Bean.  Ender's Game is also the prequel to a trilogy of novels set far out in space, following Ender as an adult: Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, and Children of the Mind.  Meanwhile, Ender's Shadow leads into a trilogy of novels starring Bean, set on Earth: Shadow of the Hegemon, Shadow Puppets, and Shadow of the Giant.  Even though Card wrote Ender's Speaker-Xenocide-Children trilogy first, Bean's Shadow trilogy takes place earlier chronologically (because Speaker for the Dead begins after Ender has traveled deep into space at near-lightspeed, causing significant time dilation).  So, with some minor overlaps, Ender in Exile mostly takes place after Bean's Shadow trilogy but before Ender's Speaker-Xenocide-Children trilogy.  Wanna see it in pictures?

Bean Sequence


Bridge Books


Ender Sequence


Short Pieces

Ender's Shadow cover Ender's Game cover First Meetings cover
Shadow of the Hegemon cover   Ender in Exile cover Speaker for the Dead cover   A War of Gifts cover
Shadow Puppets cover     Xenocide cover    
Shadow of the Giant cover

  Children of the Mind cover    
Grand Finale

If you wish to read the whole series, you can cover the short pieces whenever the mood strikes, and the novels in either of two ways.  The first is to read them by internal chronology: (1&2) Ender's Game + Ender's Shadow, (3) Shadow of the Hegemon, (4) Shadow Puppets, (5) Shadow of the Giant, (6) Ender in Exile, (7) Speaker for the Dead, (8) Xenocide, (9) Children of the Mind.  The second is to read them in order of publication: (1) Ender's Game, (2) Speaker for the Dead, (3) Xenocide, (4) Children of the Mind, (5) Ender's Shadow, (6) Shadow of the Hegemon, (7) Shadow Puppets, (8) Shadow of the Giant, (9) Ender in Exile.  I strongly recommend the latter, so that you begin with Ender's Game and Speaker for the Dead, by far the strongest books in the series.

This page was last updated - 04 February 2009